Come to the University of Bonn and visit this venerable and history-charged institution!

The Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn has a long tradition and history. Today, it belongs to the biggest and most important universities in Germany.  In comparison to international standards it has a substantial position in all science and human studies. Konrad Adenauer, Robert Schuman, Heinrich Hertz and Friedrich Nietzsche can be counted among the most famous students of this university.

The university does not have a centralized campus, but is scattered over the entire township. The central building is the Kurfürstliches Schloss with its adjacent Hofgarten, a great park, which is a popular meeting point for students and all other to relax and study. Beside the main building the Poppelsdorfer Palace and its botanic gardens are within walking distance.

The University of Bonn is divided into these seven schools:

  • School of Catholic Theology,
  • School of Protestant Theology,
  • School of Law and Economics,
  • School of Medicine,
  • School of Humanities,
  • School of Mathematics and Science and
  • School of Agricultural Science.

Beside this, there are a further research institutes established at the University of Bonn.

Especially, the School of Agricultural Science is the superior department of the Institute of Geodesy and Geoinformation (IGG) and its Photogrammetry Laboratory (IPB). For more information about these institutions and the research themes visit our websites at  and! We hope you get a little inspired!